Cinemalaya 2014 – Ronda

image

Ronda
Directed by Nick Olanka
Cinemalaya 2014: New Breed Section

I came into the screening thinking that this might be a vanity project for Ai Ai delas Alas, but hey I was mighty surprised that her dramatoc acting chops were spot on. And at times, she was believable despite her not physically not suited for the role. I’m sory but that chase scene was awkward. For a cop, she can’t run. But other than that, she was good.

I loved the overall film of the film. The glacial pace. The scant dialogue. The scant music. If I do not know who’s the filmmaker behind it I would think that Adolf Alix made it, and he did. He wrote it. His stamp on Philippine cinema is quite clear and evident.  I also liked it being short, but I had a problem it peaking only towards the end.  The redundancy of thhe middle could have given way to Arroyo’s familial woes.  Nevertheless, it was a good film, a sort of standout in a roster of lackluster films. B-

One thought on “Cinemalaya 2014 – Ronda

  1. Pingback: Ronda | Pinoy Rebyu

Leave a comment