Cinemalaya 2014 – Asintado

image

Asintado (Between the Eyes)
Directed by Louie Ignacio
Cinemalaya 2014 – Director’s Showcase

After seeing the film I had lots of thoughts about it. 1. Was the film better on paper than it was om screen? 2. What were the redeeming qualities of the film? 3. What the hell was that?

It probably was tough job for Aiko Melendez and Miggs Cuaderno both arguably making the best what was given to them.  I can still see Melendez taking the award from Aunor. She was not better, it was just ok.

A lot went wrong in this film. It had a weird, unintentionally funny and borderline silly but still trying to be serious story.  Uber exposed and TV looking cinematography (but heck some TV shows look better than this). Wooden acting. And the list goes on.  It was one of the worst Cinemalaya in competition film I have ever seen. And I think I am not the only one reacting negatively to this film, the audience I was in was laughing all the way through the film and just making the most out of the 150 pesos wasted.  I can not even say that it was entertaining, it was not. It was just an awful film that I will remember for all the wrong reasons. F

Leave a comment