Begin Again (2013/2014)

Begin Again

Begin Again

Begin Again
Directed by John Carney
2013/2014

If it is possible to be in love with a film yet be disappointed with it, then that would be what I felt for “Begin Again”.  Disappointing because it felt close “Once” but not on the same level.  The latter film was such a perfect film for me and I was a bit disappointed that Carney did not deliver the same quality, but still it was really good.  Also, I think it would have been more effective had the film had not so famous actors in it.  Not that they are not that good, in fact they are really good.  But I will get to that in a bit.  The songs while great, do not feel indie which they should. 

But there are a lot of things to love in the film.  The actors are all great.  Keira Knightley in probably one of her best and most relaxed performances.  I think she will get a Golden Globe nomination for her performance.  Mark Ruffallo is his usual great.  Adam Levine was suprisingly good.  The songs are also to die for albeit me having reservations with it.  “Lost Stars” was epic.  I also dig the somewhat spontaneous feel of the feel, it felt relaxed and not forced.

The film ended on such a high note that I just can not deny the fact that I am in love with it. It is not “Once” but it really is one of the best offerings of the year so far.  A-